Weekly Photo Challenge – Sail through Summer

San Diego Maritime Museum

My submission for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer.

I dream of sailing through summer on a tall ship with masts spread open.

I want to watch dolphins playfully dodge in and out of the waves as the ship’s bow slices through the water.  Have the sun warm my face as the ocean breeze billow the sails.

Star of India, Maritime Museum

It’s to sail through summer on a tall ship.  I’ll meet the pirate Captain Jack Sparrow and have a drink of rum.  It would be an amazing travel theme to sail all summer for fun.

My photographs are of tall ships in the Maritime Museum of San Diego’s collection on a past trip to sunny San Diego.

18 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge – Sail through Summer

  1. I’d love to sail on a tall ship too. In fact the opportunity came up for me to sign up to sail on a short tall ships race (I’ve never sailed but they don’t mind!) but it clashed with a friend’s wedding. 😦

      • Not really, I’d already said I’d go to the wedding and they do these trips every year so hopefully in 2013! What was really annoying about it was that the trip began from very close to where the wedding was. If it had started a day later I could have done both!

  2. Captain Jack Sparrow! Now that would rock. Add a little rum and sail away! My kind of summer escapade! Nice photos and thanks for dropping by my blog. G

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sun and Ocean | Canoe Communications·

Share a thought or a comment

