High-Speed Highway Photo Tour

car matches building art

car matches building art

Sunday post of a chaotic image-filled express ride.  On the road again on the 90/94 Expressway riding north to Wisconsin snapped photographs of what I see for a high-speed highway tour. Highways are constructed arteries of concrete slicing through neighborhoods and cities; and scarring the landscape through necessity of transportation. Highway photography should have its own category separate from street photography, because its quick shots sometimes blurred images of buildings, cars and things people see only for an instant. It’s not like street photography of people pedaling bikes, walking holding hands or sitting on park benches with slow motion pictures of life in a town, village or city.

It’s fast-paced with cars and trucks photo bombing the pictures I try to capture. I was constantly clicking, snapping the camera to catch the images as the car sped past them on this stormy, rainy day. The dark blue sky made highway lights, buildings colored bricks and painted expressway railings stand out. While the rain put it all in a soft focus.

So often I drive and ride the expressway watching the traffic around me and looking at the signs overhead for my exit. I don’t notice the architecture or the neighborhoods that I race past. I’m as hurried as the other drivers around me to make my exit. Now I’m riding in a car and I take the time to roll down the window and hold my camera out into the rain quickly snapping photographs of what I see as I speed past it.

Here are pictures from the road and skirting the city of Chicago as I head north to Wisconsin.

smokestake versus skycraper

smokestack versus skyscraper

cathedral

cathedral

Greek Islands, Greek Town

Greek Islands, Greek Town

condominums by University of Illinois - Chicago

condominiums by University of Illinois – Chicago

Augusta Boulevard

Augusta Boulevard

church in the distance

church in the distance

entering the darkness

entering the darkness

back into the light

back into the light

heading north

heading north

7 responses to “High-Speed Highway Photo Tour

Share a thought or a comment

