Splendid Lines of Waterfalls

falling waters

falling waters

There is an aquatic symmetry in the splendid lines of falling waters cascading down the tiers of the waterfall.  I watch the limitless flow of water leading off on a journey.

A bridge spans over the waterfall.   A weeping willow tree’s yellow branches gracefully say by the bridge almost like waves of
water.

leading bridge line

What is that elemental need that draws us to waterfalls?  I think John Muir explained that desire well for me when he wrote:

“As long as I live, I’ll hear   waterfalls and birds and winds sing. I’ll interpret the rocks, learn the language of flood, storm, and the avalanche. I’ll acquaint myself with the   glaciers and wild gardens, and get as near the heart of the world as I can”.”
John Muir
water flowing over falls

water flowing over falls

I combined my submission for Where’s My Backpack’s Travel theme: Leading Lines and Jakesprinter’s Sunday Post  “Splendid” photo challenges together in this post.  It’s first time I combined photo challenges.

Why?  It was the waterfalls.  The waterfalls inspired me.   I saw both the splendid beauty of the waterfalls and lines that seemed to lead off into forever.  I thought of splendid lines as I walked by the falls and over the bridge.

If you feel inspired and have a photo that expresses “splendid” or “leading lines,” you can join in the photo challenges.

27 responses to “Splendid Lines of Waterfalls

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post : Splendid « restlessjo·

  2. I am mesmerized bt the Splendid beauty of these photo’s. They are breathtaking. I think they fit both categories real well. I can’t imagine how they were taken but the angles are perfect. I love waterfalls. They seem to block out noise … the noise that sometimes needs to be silent. A fabulous meditation location. Really, really nice post …!!!!

    • It is serene place with the sounds of the water and birds. I went as close as possible to the waterfalls to take the photos and focused on the surroundings. I saw people sitting on a bench or a blanket relaxing.

Share a thought or a comment

