Sunday Delicious

Sunday delights

Sunday delights

Sunday morning delicious for me is simple delights of  reading the Sunday strip, comic strip, for some laughs to go with a cup coffee, a homemade muffin and orange juice.  Then I’m off for a hike with my pooch.

Jakesprinter Sunday Post asked people to share in photographs what someone finds delicious or delightful.  My Sunday delights are comic strip satire, hot coffee, breakfast and a walk with my four-legged furry friend.

I thought I’d have some fun with this photo challenge and use the new WordPress gallery format.  I have pictures of fruit.  How can I make an orange look interesting?  For my photo essay on Sunday delights I used close-ups, different sorts of angles and composition, and long shots in the pictures.

For more Sunday delicious and delightful visit Jakesprinter Sunday Post.  My recipe for Harvest Muffins is included after the photos.  Here are just for fun photos:

Harvest Muffins

This recipes uses fruits and vegetables from the harvest.  It is flexible and be adapted based on your tastes with sweet potato substituted for pumpkin, carrots for apples and nuts for flaxseed.

1 1/2 cups of flour

2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (allspice, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg)

1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil

1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1 cup cooked,  pumpkin puree

1 cup shredded apple

1/4 cup golden flaxseed or chopped walnuts

2 large eggs

Juice and grated rind of one medium orange

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line or grease 12 muffin cups.  Sift together dry ingredients and spices.  Mix oil, eggs, vanilla, orange juice and rind and pumpkin.  Blend dry and wet ingredients together.  Wisk in grated apple and flaxseed to the mixture.

Dived the batter among the muffin cups.  Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the muffin.  Cool completely and then enjoy.

22 responses to “Sunday Delicious

  1. Thank you for the recipe for the muffins. I will try them out. Great post for Delicious. Oranges are a favorite fruit of mine. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. I will enjoy trying your muffin recipe. Also, thanks for wandering through my three blogs — I believe you are the first to actually wander around all three of them. By the way, I think your blog is beautiful.

    • I started with travel, moved on to reviews in cities and then wanted to read your recipes. I’ll be back to read more of your travels of the North Loop.

      🙂

      • Sounds good;however, as of today, we have another setback, so I think it will be awhile before we start the loop. Our brand new fuel tank (that was sent back to the factory due to a leak and supposedly checked out fine) is again leaking. Two steps forward, then one step back….again….

Share a thought or a comment

