Weekly Photo Challenge – Beyond

For this Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond, my photos limit my zone of sharpness in this depth-of field challenge to what is close and still see beyond it.

I’m combining a Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond with a Daily Prompt: Free Association together in this post.

White House gate

A group of young men stand looking beyond the White House gate at cars lined up, and waiting for the a glimpse of the president.

Beyond

Beyond in a photo challenge can be defined as farther than or more distant than the eye can see or the camera lens capture.  I have a different angle on it, interpreting it as a depth-of-field challenge with a sharp main subject and interesting, distant background that may still be recognizable.

I thought the photos are appropriate focus for a photo challenge this week, because they were taken at the White House in Washington, D.C.  and Inauguration Day is this week.

White House and gates

The White House stands outlined in the background behind and beyond the temporary bleacher seating, metal fencing and wrought-iron gate.

Free Association

Today’s Daily Prompt was a free association of three words home, soil and rain.  My home is where I lay my hat and rest my camera bag.  Whether it’s raining or shining, home is a place where I always feel welcome going to.

When I combine home and soil into home soil, I think of America as my home soil and what it represents to me…the values and ideals.  A structural, architectural representation of home soil to me is the White House.  It’s history of the struggle to build it and preserve makes it an iconic symbolic home to me both at home and abroad.

All of the presidents and their families that lived in it have left their mark on it in some way as they make it their home.

22 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge – Beyond

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Beyond | Chittle Chattle·

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Beyond | Just Snaps·

  3. Pingback: Photo Project: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 3, 'Beyond'] « 3rdculturechildren·

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Pictures for Froghopper·

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge BEYOND | Weekly Photo Challenge·

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | Far Away·

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond as well (aka ’2′) « What's (in) the picture?·

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | Mirth and Motivation·

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond 3 (aka What’s in the light?) « What's (in) the picture?·

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community·

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Beyond « Dibbler Dabbler·

Share a thought or a comment

