Winter Geese

Canadian geese on blue lake

Canadian geese on frozen lake

“Something told the wild geese it was time to go.  Though the fields lay golden something whispered–“Snow.”  Rachel Lyman Field

The sight of Canadian geese flying over in “V” formation signals a change of season to me.  I watch Canadian geese make tracks as they cross the lake.  They like this large frozen over lake.  Ice fishermen don’t come here, and so they have it to themselves.

 

24 responses to “Winter Geese

  1. Great!!!!…. send them my way to poop on all the playgrounds. I see you have never cleaned up a six yr old who rolls repeatedly in the so called clean grass 🙂

  2. Pingback: First godwits, redshank of 2013 | Dear Kitty. Some blog·

  3. Ack! I’m not ready for the geese to come back yet, but we’re sure having an unseasonably warm winter in Virginia. I hope that doesn’t mean days on end of lethal heat in July and August.

    Nancy

  4. I was never a huge fan of Canadian geese. The ones on the NIU campus chased me a time or two too many, and they crowd boat launches here and make a big mess. However, now that I hunt them, I’m plenty happy to see them come Fall. It turns out they’re a lot smarter than you think.

    • I agree with you that they are smart. I’ve been lucky with ducks and geese not having chased me. As long as didn’t go for my fishing line, I wouldn’t seeing them at the boat launch. 🙂 Thanks for insight.

Share a thought or a comment

