Lost in the Moment

pony in winter

pony

Most of my favorite or best pictures that I’ve taken are when I’ve gotten lost in the moment with a camera in my hand.  When I see animals or birds or an amazing vista, I resist the urge to just start snapping away with the camera.  I stand there for a few moments to absorb the environment that I’m in.  I look around and see where the light is falling, and at the small details.

pony profile

pony profile

I use zoom, close ups and macro to focus in on details.  When I photograph animals and birds, I like to do it outside using natural light.  I quietly move around the animal or bird so I don’t startle it and I look where the light falls on it at the best angle.   I let them get accustomed to me, and then I take photos.  Some my favorite pictures are when I’m lost in the moment and the camera feels like an extension of my hand.

For a Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details, photos taken when I was lost in the moment photographing a gentle pony.

Here are some seasonal posts of mine of nature photography with close ups, zoom and macro photos:

winter nature close ups and zoom photos  in On the Trail

fall nature and seasonal color close ups and zoom photos in Fall Colors Photos and Music

summer nature close ups and zoom photos in 7 Nature Close Up Photos

spring nature action and zooming in photos in Maple Syrup Festival with Photos

23 responses to “Lost in the Moment

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments·

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details (2 Branches) | What's (in) the picture?·

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the Details | Chittle Chattle·

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Lost in the Details | Just Snaps·

  5. Pingback: Lost in the Details: Diamonds on the Ground | Beyond Beauty Tips·

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | Mirth and Motivation·

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details – Spanish Revival Architecture | Humbled Pie·

  8. Pingback: WPC Tibet | What's (in) the picture?·

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Mike Hardisty Photography·

  10. Pingback: 52 Bolivian Sundays [week 9, 'Lost in the Details']. | 3rdculturechildren·

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details » The Blog Farm·

  12. Wow…the light on the fur on the close-up is truly beautiful. It’s like flip-flop paint or the shimmer of certain dress material…

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | Far Away·

Share a thought or a comment

