Winter Footprints

winter footprints

winter footprints

“If you walk on snow you cannot hide your footprints.” George Herbert

Yesterday was cool, bright holding the promise for a pleasant hike in the woods.  I started on the trail and then saw footprint off trail in the snow.  Which direction should I go?  Should I follow the established trail that was stamped down by the footprints of many hikers before me?  It was a trail that I had walked before.

Should I go off trail and follow these footprints to see where they lead?  I was intrigued, and decided to follow the footprints in the snow.  I thought about Herbert’s quote that it’s hard to hide footprints in the snow.

Do you follow an established path?  Or are you a trailblazer?   Or are you a little of both?

7 responses to “Winter Footprints

Share a thought or a comment

