Spring Green Escape

lily pad lake

lily pad lake

When I think of spring, I think of green growth and vegetation.  Plants and animals sprouting up again and starting over,  and new life all occurring in this season.  New growth and renewal starts in spring and blooms through summer till harvest time.

Yet,  I visited this lake over the weekend and it was covered with vegetation.  It looks more like a marsh than a lake now with lily pads extending across the surface of the water covering it with a green lush blanket.  I don’t think you could fish in the lake, but it is for the birds.

I think Monet would be inspired by the colorful lily pads on the water that look almost large enough to walk on.

“The richness I achieve comes from nature, the source of my inspiration. ”  Claude Monet

I like Monet’s painting and this quote.  I could see richness of colors and depth in many shades of green looking out on the watery landscape.  I understand how it continues to serve as a source of inspiration.

Escaping to nature offers me an opportunity to see growth and all green during the spring season.  There is a group of fellow hikers at the far end of my picture by the trees that also left the cities behind to walk in the woods.  And, so I thought this also fit with a Weekly Photo Challenge – Escape.

9 responses to “Spring Green Escape

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My favorite Escape | Humbled Pie·

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Escape | Ryan Photography·

  3. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review : Green Spring Gardens, Alexandria, Va. | I see beauty all around by rob paine·

Share a thought or a comment

