Fall Egret

It started as a somber day. Then the su came in sparkling light across the marsh I walked near.

A large shadow crossed the sky a half mile to the north of me. As I walked up the trail north, I saw white fleck contrasting against canvas of water, sedge green grass. It was a long-legged, large bill and elegant snowy white member of the heron family.

I thought I might see a heron, egret or crane in the large marsh, because they need to the space to spread their wings–to fly and fish.

snowy egret

snowy egret

It stood out a solitary snow white figure against tall sections of grass, as it dipped its beak up and down through surface like someone digging for clams.

3 responses to “Fall Egret

  1. Pingback: Snowy Egret at Viera (Florida) Wetlands | I see beauty all around by rob paine·

  2. Pingback: Yellow Boots | I see beauty all around by rob paine·

Share a thought or a comment

