Fall Fungi

Colorful curly fungi stands out against the dark bark of a dying tree in the forest. It is recycling the old tree for the forest. And it is icky and intriguing at the same time.

tree fungus

tree fungus

colorful curls of fungi

colorful curls of fungi

As much as it’s a shame to the old tree go, I realize that forest reuses its resources and recycles with fungi help. New trees are growing near the old one, and eventually will grow tall and take its place. Will I remember this old tree in a few years from now as a I walk past the young growing ones? I don’t know.

But for now as I pass by the old one, I look up to see how tall its grow in the forest in its lifetime and how quietly it passes.

Share a thought or a comment

