Fall Frosty Morning

snowy landscape

snowy landscape

It is an early late fall, foggy morning with frost blanket the landscape from the first snow of the season. Although it is early morning, the frost and fog set a more relaxing pace. It is at once beautifully scenic and hard to see far into the distance, so I walk slowly on the trail.

I crunch twigs and dried leaves fallen from trees under my boots. Overnight the landscape has changed from warm autumn to frost and cold; and any vestiges of fall are covered under the snow. Still I’m thrilled to see the first snowfall early in the morning.

The sound of a hawk flying over tells me I’m not the only early riser to enjoy the woods. I see footprints on the trail and hear the voices of others up ahead. I could try to catch up with them, but I’m enjoying my relaxing pace.

Share a thought or a comment

