Weekly Photo Challenge – Country Surprise

It was a cold, clear night as I drove on the dark, lonely country road in Kankakee County.  There were no street lights to guide me.  I’d regretted my decision to not to stop at the gas station a few miles back, because my gas gauge was reading low.

The weatherman was announcing a coming snowstorm on the radio.  The wind had gotten stronger blowing over open fields, and it made me grip the steering wheel a little tighter.  I didn’t want to have to pull over to the side of the road without any farmhouses or towns nearby.

Then up ahead in the distance I saw a bright light in the dark sky.  As I drove closer, the image grew clearer.  It was a glowing cross on top of a grain silo.  Someone climbed to the top of the tall silo to put up the cross.

grain silo and cross

grain silo and cross

It was a comforting surprise.  I saw the office at the silo was still open.  The man in the office told me there was a gas station a couple of miles up the road.  I took these pictures of it before I got back in my car and drove away.

Surprise is described as a brief emotional state experienced as the result of an unexpected event.

Surprise can be a town in Arizona, it can be good or bad, and it can be a bright light on a dark night and a guy who has the directions to a gas station.

cross on dark night

cross on dark night

 

More surprises at the Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise.

12 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge – Country Surprise

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise « Miljo Anne·

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise! | Four Deer Oak·

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise! | Mirth and Motivation·

  4. Fascinating find! 🙂
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Holidays to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” ♥ ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”
    Eliz

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Christmas Surprise Triage at Grandma’s | Humbled Pie·

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Surprise! | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community·

Share a thought or a comment