Bays to Oceans

California seal

California seal swims up to the boat

Where’s My Back Travel Theme: Oceans this week helped me to remember two beautiful cities by the bay.  Happy World Oceans Day!

I’m in a San Francisco state of mind, where cable cars climb up to the stars in the city by the bay.  It’s been awhile since I’ve glimpsed its crooked streets and hills.  I remember it so clearly Fisherman’s Wharf, the neighborhoods with shops and restaurants, and the gardens.  I close my eyes and see the Golden Gate Bridge spanning across the bay.  The other city just down the coast from San Francisco, Half Moon Bay is a relaxed seaside town just a scenic coastal drive away.

I took two photographs on a boat cruise around San Francisco Bay with the waters from the Pacific Ocean.  It was a hot day till the fog rolled in that morning to cool the temperature off, dropping it a few degrees.  I was worried that I would have lots of pictures of fog and not much ocean.  But the fog lifted by the time I reached Fisherman’s Wharf.  The third photograph I took by Half Moon Bay.

Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge

Half Moon Bay

Half Moon Bay

 

15 responses to “Bays to Oceans

  1. I love that comment. 🙂 They are water-soaked memories of my mind. I like to use a digital camera and still go back to a 35 mm occasionally for a different effect. I used a 35 mm for these photos. And, the seals will come up to the boats looking for treats.

  2. Pingback: Travel Challenge: Ocean « craftcrazygran·

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Sun and Ocean | Canoe Communications·

Share a thought or a comment