Winter First Light

forest dawn

first light in the forest

As dawn breaks in the forest, I see the sun rising over the horizon.  The first light of morning is a soft rosy color.  The sun spreads over the snowy landscape lighting up a winter day.

While behind me it is still dark and moon the hangs in the sky slowly rescinding to make way for the morning.  I hear a lonely coyote’s howl off in the distance deeper in the woods.  I guess it’s up early too.  I feel like I’m in the center of an eclipse of dark and light, day and night.

The forest trails and wooded parks open at dawn here and are popular with hikers, especially early-bird walkers.  What a way to start a day.  I’m watching a sunrise in the forest with a hot cup of coffee, waiting for a hiking trail to open.

4 responses to “Winter First Light

Share a thought or a comment